Lee Underwood’s biography, net worth, fact, career, awards and life story

IntroAmerican musician
Is Journalist 
Music journalist 
From United States of America 
Type Journalism 

Lee Underwood is an American musician and writer notable for performing on lead guitar with Tim Buckley for most of Buckley’s career. Underwood appeared on seven of the nine studio albums Buckley recorded during his brief life, and on several posthumous releases, including “Live in London.” He appears on the DVD Tim Buckley: My Fleeting House discussing Tim Buckley’s impressive artistic evolutionary development through five different musical phases, from folk, to folk-rock, to jazz, to avant-garde innovations, to dance-oriented popular music in which he merged all of his previous influences and concepts into an organic whole.
Throughout the 70s and 80s Underwood became an internationally known music journalist, contributing interviews, essays, and record reviews to various notable periodicals such as Down Beat, Rolling Stone and Los Angeles Times. He served as the West Coast of the United States editor of Down Beat from 1975 to 1981.
He wrote and published Blue Melody: Tim Buckley Remembered in 2002, cited by Uncut music magazine as one of the year’s 10 best biographies. In 1990, he co-authored jazz flautist Paul Horn’s autobiography for which he received the Crystal Award for Music Journalism from the New Age Music network.
Underwood’s first book of poems, “Timewinds,” was published by Poetic Matrix Press in 2010. His second book of poems is entitled “Diamondfire” (published by Outskirts Press, 2016). Underwood’s website,, includes several essays on music and musicians, (including Tim Buckley), philosophical issues, audio readings of his poems and a full-length book of wisdom-word emails written to a host of recipients, entitled Diamonds in the Sky.
As a musician himself, Underwood has recorded three CDs: California Sigh (1988), a solo guitar work produced by synthesist Steve Roach; Phantom Light (2003), a solo acoustic piano recording; and Gathering Light, also a solo acoustic piano work, recorded in 2009.


with Tim Buckley
  • Tim Buckley (1966)
  • Goodbye and Hello (1967)
  • Happy Sad (1969)
  • Blue Afternoon (1969)
  • Lorca (1970)
  • Starsailor (1970)
  • Sefronia (1973)