Tony Ross – biography, fact, career, awards, net worth and life story

IntroEnglish children’s illustrator and writer
Is Writer 
Children’s writer 
From United Kingdom 
Type Arts 
Birth 10 August 1938, London
Age:82 years

Tony Ross (born 10 August 1938) is a British illustrator and author of children’s picture books. In Britain he may be known best for illustrating the Horrid Henry series by Francesca Simon. He has also illustrated the Amber Brown series by Paula Danziger, the Dr. Xargle series by Jeanne Willis, and the Harry The Poisonous Centipede series by Lynne Reid Banks. For his contribution as a children’s illustrator he was U.K. nominee for the biennial, international Hans Christian Andersen Award in 2004.
In 1986 Ross won the Deutscher Jugendliteraturpreis, picture books category, for Ich komm dich holen!, the German-language edition of I’m coming to get you! (Andersen, 1984). For the third Dr. Xargle book with Willis, Dr. Xargle’s book of Earth Tiggers, about cats, he was highly commended runner up for the 1990 Kate Greenaway Medal from the Library Association, recognising the year’s best children’s book by a British subject.
Among WorldCat participating libraries, the eight most widely held works by Ross are Amber Brown books written by Danziger. The most widely held book written and illustrated by Ross is I Want Two Birthdays (2008), which is represented in ten languages.
Ross was born in London. He studied at the Liverpool School of Art and Design and had many jobs, including a cartoonist, graphic designer, then art director at an Advertising Agency. In 1976 his long association with the fledgling Andersen Press began with the publication of his re-telling of Goldilocks and the Three Bears. For several years he was Senior Lecturer in Art and head of the Illustration Course at Manchester Polytechnic.
In Britain, Ross was a commended runner up for the annual Kate Greenaway Medal.

Little Princess

The Little Princess is a series of books about a three- or four-year-old princess and the phases that she goes through in life. The first book, titled ‘I Want My Potty’ was about toilet training, originally published by Andersen in 1986, and in several other countries the same year., and included a 5-minute video from Anytime Tales narrated by Victoria Wood.

Since then many other stories were published.and adapted into a cartoon series (appropriately titled Little Princess), featuring issues such as sibling rivalry, bad manners and attachment.

Some of the other books include but are not limited to:


  • I want a sister!


  • I don’t want to go to the hospital!
  • I want my dummy


  • I want my tooth


  • I want to be a cowgirl (co-written with Jeanne Willis)


  • I don’t want a cold!
  • I want a trumpet!
  • I want my sledge!
  • I want my tent!


  • I don’t like salad!
  • I don’t want to comb my hair!
  • I want my puppets!
  • I want to be a cavegirl!
  • I want to be tall!
  • I want two birthdays!


  • I want to do it myself!
  • I want my light on!


  • I want a party!


  • I didn’t do it!
  • I want to win! : a Little Princess story
  • Formats and Editions of I want my potty”. WorldCat. Retrieved 2012-08-28.