Acey Slade – biography, fact, career, awards, net worth and life story

IntroAmerican singer and guitarist
Is Musician 
From United States of America 
Type Music 
Birth 15 December 1974, Pennsylvania
Age:45 years

Acey Slade (born Emil John Schmidt IV; December 15, 1974) is the lead singer and guitarist of the band Acey Slade & the Dark Party and current bassist in Joan Jett & the Blackhearts. Previous to this he was the lead vocalist and guitarist in the punk rock band Trashlight Vision, which broke up September 12, 2007. Slade is perhaps best known as the former guitarist in the horror punk and glam metal act the Murderdolls. He was also the touring rhythm guitarist for The Misfits. He lives in Brooklyn, New York.


Prior to Murderdolls and Wednesday 13, Slade played bass, and later guitar, in the band Dope alongside guitarist Tripp Eisen who was also part of the Murderdolls. After Eisen left Dope, Slade was moved to guitar for the album Life. He later left Dope to join the Murderdolls, again replacing Eisen on guitar. Before joining the Murderdolls (alongside his Dope work), Slade also fronted a band known as the Vampire Love Dolls. After Murderdolls were put on hiatus in 2004 Slade filled in on guitar for punk/metal crossover band Amen for a tour of Japan.

Slade played rhythm guitar on the track “Tired ‘N Lonely” on Roadrunner United for Roadrunner Records’ 25-year anniversary. He collaborated on the song with Joey Jordison, who also played in the Murderdolls with Slade. After the break-up of TrashLight Vision Slade filled in as guitarist for Wednesday 13 on his 2008 tour as well as taking time to produce records by His Mighty Robot (which remains unreleased) and Billy Liar.

Slade is one of the contributors to the book Sex Tips from Rock Stars by Paul Miles published by Omnibus Press in July 2010 and was also used as the motion-capture model for the Punk Singer and Rock Guitarist characters on the video game Rock Band 2.

Slade is currently touring and promoting his new band Acey Slade & the Dark Party, whose début album The Dark Party was released in 2010, and is also playing bass with Joan Jett & the Blackhearts and filling in on bass for the occasional tour date with former band Dope.

On September 4th, 2016, Slade performed second guitar for the first Original Misfits reunion set at Riot Fest Denver.


Joan Jett & the Blackhearts

  • ESP Phoenix II-B basses
  • Ampeg SVT-CL amps
  • Ampeg SVT-810E cabinets
  • Boss TU-2

Acey Slade & the Dark Party

  • ESP Phoenix guitars
  • ESP Eclipse-I guitars
  • Peavey Penta amps
  • Peavey Penta cabinets
  • Boss TU-2


In the past Slade has also used:

  • Gibson Les Paul guitars
  • Gibson Firebird guitars
  • BC Rich Mockingbird guitars
  • ESP Vintage-4 PJ basses
  • Epiphone Les Paul guitars
  • Hughes & Kettner guitar amps
  • Marshall guitar amps
  • Tech 21 SansAmp
  • Hagstrom Viking bass


  • 1997: Vampire Love Dolls – Vampire Love Dolls (Vocals)
  • 1999: Felons and Revolutionaries – Dope (Bass)
  • 2001: Life – Dope (Guitar, backing vocals)
  • 2004: TrashLight Vision EP – TrashLight Vision (Vocals, guitar)
  • 2005: Allergic To Home EP – TrashLight Vision (Vocals, guitar)
  • 2005: Roadrunner United – Roadrunner Records (Rhythm guitar on “Tired ‘N Lonely”)
  • 2006: Alibis And Ammunition – TrashLight Vision (Vocals, guitar) †
  • 2008: Sex, Murder, Art, Baby! EP – Acey Slade (Vocals, guitar, bass) †
  • 2009: Black Season – His Mighty Robot (Unreleased) †
  • 2009: It Starts Here EP – Billy Liar (Production, backing vocals, guitar) †
  • 2009: She Brings Down The Moon EP – Acey Slade (Vocals, guitar, bass) †
  • 2009: Use It EP – Black Sugar Transmission (Vocals on “I Dare You”)
  • 2010: The Dark Party – Acey Slade & the Dark Party (Vocals, guitar, bass) †
  • 2010: The After Party EP – Acey Slade & the Dark Party (Vocals, guitar, bass) †
  • 2010: Spin The Bottle EP – Acey Slade & the Dark Party (Vocals, guitar)
  • 2011: Inside The Reptile House: Live From NYC – Acey Slade & the Dark Party (Vocals, guitar)
  • 2012: Recognise – JD & the FDCs (Vocals on “The Secret”)
  • 2012: Suicide Lullaby/Burn This City Down – Acey Slade & the Dark Party (Vocals, guitar) – Split 7″ with JD & the FDCs
  • 2013: Unvarnished – Joan Jett & the Blackhearts (Bass)
  • 2015: Valentines For Sick Minds – Acey Slade (Vocals, bass, guitar)
  • 2016: Live From Moscow, Russia – Dope (bass, vocals)

† – Produced