Diri sends names of 24 commissioner-nominees to Bayelsa Assembly

Bayelsa State Governor Douye Diri has forwarded the names of 24 commissioner-nominees to the House of Assembly for confirmation.The cabinet list came exactly after six months Diri was sworn in as governor following the disqualification of the governor-elect, David Lyon, by a Supreme Court judgment, 24 hours before his inauguration.

From the list seen by The Guardian, three nominees each were picked from Brass Council, Ekeremor, Nembe, Yenagoa, former President Goodluck Jonathan’s Ogbia and former Governor Seriake Dickson’s Sagbama.

However, four came from Southern Ijaw and two from Diri’s Kolokuma/Opokuma Council.

The nominees, comprising mainly unknown names, include Miss Preye Brodrick, Miss Grace Ekiotene, Miss Faith Orubo, Opueme,Esau Andrew, Mr. Ibiere Jones, Chief Thompson Amule, Stanley Braboke, Moses Teibowei, Mr. Iselema Gbaranbiri, Chief David Alagoa, Mr. Dambo Birigha (SAN), Dr. Iti Orugbani and Dr. Promise Ekio.

Others are Mr. Otokito Federal, Mr. Obosi Churson, Mr. Seikumo Ekisah, Maxwell Ebibai, Mr. Akpoebidei Alamieyeseigha, Rex George, Mr. Baraladei Igali, Mr. Ebitein Tonyon, Dr. Igwele Newton, Mr. Ayebaina Duba and Mr. Gentle Emelah.

Reacting to the list, Dickson called for sustained support for the governor to enable him deliver effectively on his electoral promise of prosperity to the people.

In a statement by his Media Advisor, Fidelis Soriwei, the former governor commended party faithful and stakeholders for their support and understanding during the various consultative meetings that preceded the emergence of the list.

He pleaded with them to exercise more patience with the governor on the cabinet appointments made so far, explaining that it was only logical and expected that not all party supporters and stakeholders would benefit in the first batch.

Get the latest news and analysis of issues from Nigeria, Africa and around the world, direct into your inbox, daily

Source: guardian.ng